Freezy and Easy

September 20, 2010

Day 2: Dinner – Homestyle Macaroni Bake

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — fionagold @ 10:11 pm

Some people say I should have been born American, or at least my tastebuds are from the US. I scoff because I LOVE vegemite and meat pies, lamb etc etc, but I guess its because I am OBSESSED with a few key parts of modern “American” cuisine. That is Peanut butter + chocolate, cookies (but seriously who doesn’t love those, I just call them cooies) and Mac n Cheese. I loved the Kraft Mac and cheese, I love American luminous orange Mac and Cheese, I love enricos Mac and Cheese, and Hard Rock cafe side dish Mac and Cheese. Other than Mac and Cheese, I dont like creamy pasta, and I dont like fancy cheese like brie. I just like plain tasty, cheddar and maybe gouda.

DSCF3884

8.5 minutes of shower later, it smelt good and at the end the cheese started to burn brown. Love-love-love!! But no real crumbly bits like on the photo. Maybe this is an oven meal? Or at least on micro/grill.

Plus its uber carby. I am not afraid of carbs (I know, my faux-sotto says otherwise, but honestly) I love me some brown rice, and turkish bread, wraps, seedy bread etc, but for me its about balance. I can no longer happily sit down and eat half a fresh loaf of bread with butter. My body actually doesn’t like it. When I eat like that travelling, the lack of veggies kills me (try a 20 hour road trip, Mm McDonalds to KFC to Oporto)

I like to pimp my mac cheese, with peas, corn, tuna, whatevs. I had leftover salmon and I am trying to eat fish three times a week, so I cut out the same amount of calories earlier in the day to add this yummy fishy.

DSCF3886

Added some chopped chives and pepper too, and plopped it in a bowl – just wanted to curl up on the couch with my din-dins!

It was fantastic and yummy comfort food. But remember I love Mac Cheese, so maybe I am biased. It was runnier, saucier than other mac cheeses, but I still  like it. Anyway, that meal is going to be repeated and I will try to mimic it – gourmet Mac Cheese, with cauliflower (to pad out instead of pasta) salmon, and a crunchy panko bread crumb topping.

I ate it so fast I had to wait to get full 😦 But I stayed full until bedtime.

An easy 8/10, maybe more, but will be getting it again (if I keep all this up)

Night!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

